Last week, IMBA Canada staff attended the Ontario Bike Summit, where Share the Road Cycling Coalition CEO Eleanor McMahon announced the first Canadian Bicycle Friendly Community awards.

Congratulations to the City of Ottawa and Waterloo for its Silver awards, and to Ajax and Windsor for Bronze status!

The Bicycle Friendly Communities Program, an initiative of the Washington-based League of American Bicyclists, provides incentives, hands-on assistance, and award recognition for communities that actively support bicycling. Designations include platinum, gold, silver and bronze.

The Ontario Bike Summit, took place Jun 27 – 28 in Ottawa, ON. Presenters included Dr. Rodney Tolley, Director of Walk21, Phillip Darnton, Bicycle Association of Great Britain, and Ontario MTO Minister Kathleen Wynne.

IMBA Canada’s own Executive Director Lora Woolner was invited to present on youth engagement, alongside Joyride150 co-owner Scott Bentley.

Thanks to Share the Road for organizing and facilitating this great annual conference. As an advocate for natural-surface trails, it is important for IMBA Canada to be at the table discussing active transportation, and trails’ role in our infrastructure.

Photo courtesy of Share the Road, by Simon Winson.